legal |
HomepageDigital archive
back to "Searching the Digital Archive"

Ludwig van Beethoven, Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 4 (G-Dur) op. 58, Kadenz zum Finale, Autograph

Beethoven-Haus Bonn, Sammlung H. C. Bodmer, HCB Mh 18

Enlarge Image 2 / 2back

Open via DFG-Viewer

Nice to know
A short cadenza

Beethoven wrote a total of six cadenzas for his Fourth Piano Concerto op. 58, three for the first movement and three for the last. One of them, HCB Mh 17, is not really a cadenza in the strictest sense, but rather a transition to the rondo refrain. The other two are "true" cadenzas in alternative versions. Whilst HCB Mh 19 is an extensive version, HCB Mh 18 seems to be a short version (for tired pianists?). Beethoven only needed one page of music for it and this page is not even covered with dense writing! The composer contented himself here with a further transition, sparing himself the virtuoso exhibition of an expansive cadenza.
This cadenza for the finale - Beethoven entitled it "Cadenza nel Rondo" - bears a call number from Archduke Rudolph's music library, as do the other five cadenzas. It was given the call number "Bethoven 101", under which the appropriate original version was also catalogued. As with most of the other cadenzas there is a note under the call number showing the place in the solo part at which the manuscript was to be inserted: "pag 34", i.e. page 34. (J.R.)

Library indexing

Link to this page

Glossary Glossary

© Beethoven-Haus Bonn
E-Mail: bibliothek@beethoven.de