legal |
HomepageDigital archive
back to "written documents by ludwig van beethoven and other people" | back to "publishers"

Ludwig van Beethoven, Brief an Franz Anton Hoffmeister in Leipzig, Wien, 15. Dezember 1800, Autograph

Beethoven-Haus Bonn, NE 181

Enlarge Image 1 / 2forward

Open via DFG-Viewer

Audio letter Audio letter
Nice to know
Beethoven offers the Leipzig publisher Hoffmeister his second Piano Concerto op. 19, the First Symphony op. 21, the Septet op. 20 as well as the Piano Sonata op. 22. He regrets that he has already sold the String Quartets op. 18 as well as the Piano Concerto op. 15 to Mollo in Vienna. Beethoven discreetly draws Hoffmeister's attention to the possibility of producing a pirate copy (Hoffmeister did not do so).
Beethoven's comment on op. 20 that all the instruments in the septet are obligato has been cited many times. He adds "I cannot write anything that is not obligato because I already came into the world with an obligato accompagnement".
Beethoven asks Hoffmeister to make him an offer for the works named. This did not happen and Beethoven himself suggests prices in another letter (NE 160, BGA 54).

Letter text

Library indexing

Link to this page

Glossary Glossary

© Beethoven-Haus Bonn
E-Mail: bibliothek@beethoven.de